“It’s hard to imagine a more skilled band playing   [Western swing/country]. Pick a country or bluegrass artist — past or present   — and it’s a good bet someone in the group has worked with them. They’re so   adroit they don’t even rehearse.”

– Associated   Press

Burlington, MA – Rounder Records is pleased to announce the   signing of Western swing/country group The Time Jumpers.  Formed in 1998   by a group of Nashville’s recording studio elite, the band began just as a jam   session for the musicians to blow off steam and play their favorite   songs.  Soon they were playing gigs in the Nashville area and were   offered a regular slot at the Station Inn every Monday   night.

The critics loved the show and as word spread, The Time   Jumpers became the “show that stars go to see.”  On any given Monday,   stars such as Reba McEntire, Bonnie Raitt , Norah Jones, Toby Keith, Sheryl   Crow, Elvis Costello and even Robert Plant have been known to pull up a chair   and sit in with the band.  The band continues to play every week, but has   recently moved venues to 3rd and Lindsley since they were drawing crowds too   large for the Station Inn’s capacity.

The group’s make-up has   changed over the years. The current lineup of 11 singers and musicians   includes “Ranger” Doug Green of Riders in the Sky as well as these   highly-regarded Nashville session and touring musicians Paul Franklin, Jeff   Taylor, Kenny Sears, Andy Reiss, Dennis Crouch, Dawn Sears, Joe Spivey, and   newest members Country Music Hall of Famer Vince Gill, Larry Franklin and   Billy Thomas.

Of the signing, founding member and   vocalist/fiddler Kenny Sears remarks, “We are so excited to be signing with   Rounder Records.  We have all been fans of this label for a long   time.  The fact that they are excited about our project makes us twice as   excited: lots of excitement!

“We’re very proud of this album;   it’s the first time we’ve been able to record our own songs in a studio   setting.  We all look forward to our new relationship with Rounder   Records.”

Check out a performance of “I Ain’t Got Nothin’ but   the Blues” here

In   2007, the group recorded a live album titled Jumpin’ Time that was nominated   for two Grammy® awards.  The Time Jumpers are managed by Fitzgerald   Hartley and their first studio album, and Rounder debut, is expected September   11.

The Time Jumpers are: Dennis Crouch – upright bass Larry   Franklin – fiddle Paul Franklin – steel guitar Vince Gill – vocals,   electric guitar, acoustic guitar “Ranger Doug” Green – vocals, archtop   guitar Dawn Sears – vocals Kenny Sears – vocal, fiddle Joe Spivey –   fiddle, vocals Andy Reiss – electric guitar Jeff Taylor – accordion,   piano Billy Thomas – drums,   vocals

Author: admincw